Five Friday Favorites

Five Friday Favorites 10.30.15 _ AnythingYouWantBlog.com

On Fridays, I post my five favorite things from the week. I hope you enjoy this week’s edition! Click here to see previous editions!

  1. Favorite personal finance article/post. For as long as I have lived outside of my parents’ home, I have had a roommate. I’ve had in-room roommates, shared apartments and houses with 1, 2 and even 3 roommates, and lived with my boyfriend. Although I’ve always liked the idea of living alone, I never felt like I could justify the expense of it, which is why I was so fascinated to read this article about what a roommate savings you in various cities. Boston is one of the cities with the highest savings, and I can say from my own experience that this is a pretty accurate analysis of the Boston market.
  1. Favorite non-personal finance article/post. Have you heard about the Googler who lives in a box truck in the Google parking lot? Yes, you read that right. Despite making what I’m sure is a healthy salary as a Google engineer, the young man behind this blog has chosen to make his home in a box truck to save money and cut down on his commute. While I don’t think I could ever do something quite this extreme, I am truly intrigued by this alternative living style and give this kid all kinds of credit for making such a bold choice.
  1. Favorite thing I did this week. Now that I am commuting by train to my new job, I’m getting to walk a lot more each day. I actually realized that it takes almost the exact same amount of time to walk home from work as it does to take the train, so I’ve been taking advantage of the beautiful fall days to get outside and enjoy lots of walks home. As a major bonus, I’ve seen some killer sunsets over the Charles River. Not a bad way to end the day!
A beautiful Cambridge sunset over the Charles River _ AnythingYouWantBlog.com

A beautiful Cambridge sunset over the Charles River

  1. Favorite recipe. I am loving that the cool weather gives me good reason to use the oven again and heat up the apartment with some delicious food! On our menu this week is an old standby, which I first learned of from my college roommate. The recipe calls for chicken thighs baked with artichoke hearts and fingerling potatoes. It is a perfect mix of warm comfort food and a little bit of zest from lemon. It is also relatively healthy and super quick to make – my favorite combination!
  1. Favorite quote. I have recently joined a book group (so excited!) and the first book we are reading is Speak by Louisa Hall. While I’m not sure that I fully understood all of the subtext of the book, I did really enjoy reading it and would recommend it to others. This quote, from a young girl traveling from England to the colonies in the 1600s, was particularly poignant for me. I have so often felt myself capable of something only to second guess myself in the moment.

Author is perhaps less brave an adventurer than previously she had imagined _ AnythingYouWantBlog.com

What are some of your favorite things from this week?


Subscribe to Anything You Want and follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest so you never miss an update!

2 thoughts on “Five Friday Favorites

Leave a Reply

