FY 2016 Goal Update: October Progress

FY 2016 Goal Update October Progress _ AnythingYouWantBlog.com

October is over and I am now officially one quarter of the way through my yearlong goal! While October wasn’t as smooth from an investment perspective as us investors might like, it sure seemed better than previous months. I was able to add quite a bit of cash to my investment accounts, so I’m feeling pretty good about the progress I’ve made thus far. 

The Numbers

Between October 1, 2015 and November 1, 2015, my net worth increased by 8%. This is my biggest overall gain to date (yay!).

Net Worth Goal, October Update _ AnythingYouWantBlog.com

Weirdly, while my overall net worth went up, the breakdown into the three account types stayed exactly the same. How is that for a coincidence!?

During this period, my cash savings increased by 10%, bringing me back to the level of cash I would like to maintain for the year. I’m finally getting a handle on bi-weekly paychecks, so I think that I’ll be able to maintain this balance from here on out.

My non-retirement investments saw a modest gain this month, increasing by 9%. While that is far shy of the 48%  growth I saw last month, I’m still really happy with it. Last month’s growth was mostly due to some big cash payouts related to my previous job ending, so this month represents more of a typical scenario. I would be very happy if I can continue to progress at this rate throughout the year.

My retirement accounts also saw a nice little bump this month, increasing by 8%. This is from both contributions to my new 401(k) and growth in my investments.

Am I on track to meet my goal?

This is a hard question to answer. There was a LOT of market volatility over the last few months, so I haven’t seen much passive growth in my investments. Hopefully the markets will calm down, but this is obviously well outside of my control.

Despite market irregularities, my overall net worth is up 5% since I began tracking this goal in July. Not bad, but not enough to get me to my 46% growth goal. Despite this, I’m still very pleased with my progress and I have no plans to adjust my goal at this point. Having a lofty goal is proving to be good motivation to continue adding money to my investment accounts. Those accounts might not go up a lot this year, but I am confident that over time these investments will treat me well.

How was October for you? Were you able to save as much as you wanted to?


Subscribe to Anything You Want and follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest so you never miss an update!

2 thoughts on “FY 2016 Goal Update: October Progress

  1. Still waiting for my paycheck (end of the “month” for me is mid-month on the calendar), but I’m hoping we can put away something respectable this month. I’d love to be able to hit the $25k mark we need before the end of the year. Which may be possible, depending on the existence of a bonus.

    Like

Leave a Reply

