FY 2016 Goal Update: March Progress

FY 2016 Goal Update March Progress _ AnythingYouWantBlog.com

Well, its official: tax refund season is the BEST time of the year! OK just kidding, but it is pretty fun when the government gives you back a huge chunk of money. I know, I know, its like giving an interest free loan to the government and all that jazz, but it still feels pretty great to have that little boost once a year. 

As you may have guessed, I received my state and federal tax refunds this month and they’ve put me in pretty good standing relative to my net worth goal for the year. This is how the numbers stack up:

Net worth goal March update _ AnythingYouWantBlog.com

As you can see, I have actually surpassed my overall net worth goal! I’m super pumped about this, although I recognize that a big piece of this was due to payout from retirement accounts linked to my former employer, so wasn’t really the result of any hard work on my part. Even so, I am feeling really encouraged by all of the progress I’ve made and I’m inspired to keep saving at this aggressive rate.

Here is where I stand relative to the original goal I set for myself way back in July of 2015:

  • Overall net worth: Increase by 46% Currently up 56% since July 2015
  • Cash savings: Decrease by 11% Currently down 13% since July 2015
  • Non-retirement investments: Increase by 271% Currently up 211% since July 2015
  • Retirement investments: Increase by 22% Currently up 50% since July 2015

I am tantalizingly close to reaching my goal in the non-retirement investment category, which was the biggest stretch. I’m going to aim to achieve my 271% increase by the end of June. Fingers crossed that I make it!

PS: If these increases seem kinda crazy, keep in mind that my balances were low to start, especially in the non-retirement investment category. Increasing not-a-lot-of-money by a large percent isn’t that hard!

How’s spring shaping up for you? 


Subscribe to Anything You Want and follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest so you never miss an update!

6 thoughts on “FY 2016 Goal Update: March Progress

  1. Congrats on your success!

    Doesn’t it feel amazing to be able to look at raw numbers that can reflect the work you have put in?

    I don’t know about you, but for me, the name of the game is currently building motivation.

    My numbers are small right now, but I am getting into the routine of monitoring cash flow/investments and getting motivated by seeing what I have accomplished in the past.

    All the best!

    Like

    • Thank you! Yes, it is really nice to see the results of my hard work and saving. It is a great motivator to make progress, no matter how small! Good luck to you!

      Like

  2. Taylor Lee @ Yuppie Millennial says:

    Congrats on the progress!

    Spring’s going pretty well here. Just passed 300k NW due to bonuses and tax season which has got me super pumped. That said, progress will be relatively slow the rest of the year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

